Friends of Queen Anne's County Library 2017 Annual Meeting March 6, 2017 Kent Island Library Kent Island, MD

Approved Minutes

Board members present: Mary Jackson, Kathie Smarick, Carol Franks-Randall, Penny Lins, Sue Haddox, and DeAnn Cheyne. Absent: Connie Zillig. Also present were John Walden, Library Director, and Kristen Pironis, President of the Library Board.

Minutes of the March 10, 2016 Annual Meeting were presented for approval. A motion to accept the Minutes was made by Sue Haddox and seconded by Carol Franks-Randall. The Minutes were accepted unanimously.

Minutes of the January 27, 2015 Annual Meeting were presented for approval. A motion to accept the Minutes was made by Kathie Smarick and seconded by DeAnn Cheyne. The Minutes were accepted unanimously.

Minutes of the January 14, 2014 Annual Meeting were presented for approval. A motion to accept the Minutes was made by Penny Lins and seconded by Kathie Smarick. The Minutes were accepted unanimously.

Mary Jackson gave a brief review of Friends activities in 2016. She reported a total of 77 Friends members and over \$14,000 in the Friends accounts. Mary encouraged members to review the 2016 Annual Report for details (attached here).

Mary Jackson introduced Janet Such as the 2016 Friends Volunteer of the Year. The award was given to Janet for her continued work on the Annual Book Sale, the Corn Estate book project and sorting and shelving used books at the Centreville Library. Along with the Volunteer of the Year Award Janet was given a one year membership to the Friends.

Loretta Quigley, as current Chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the 2017-2019 slate of candidates for open positions on the Friends Board. The Nominating Committee candidates for the three open Board positions were Carol Franks-Randall, Penny Lins and Beth Maier. A call for additional nominations from the floor produced no new candidates.

A motion to nominate and elect by acclamation the candidates put forward was made by Mary Jackson. The motion was passed unanimously by the members present.

Following the election of new Board members, the Nominating Committee proposed the following officers for 2017 – Kathie Smarick, President / Carol Franks-Randall, Vice President / DeAnn Cheyne, Secretary / Connie Zillig, Treasurer

A motion to accept the slate of officers as presented by the Nominating Committee was made by Sue Haddox and seconded by Penny Lins. The officers were unanimously elected by the Directors.

At this point of the Annual Meeting Kathie Smarick, in her new role as President of the Friends, took over the management of the evening. Kathie thanked Mary Jackson for her strong leadership and the firm direction she set for the Friends in her three years as President.

John Walden, Library Director, gave a presentation on how the Library utilized the 2016 funds donated by the Friends. John thanked Mary again for her leadership. He reported receiving \$16,000 from the Friends in 2016 which was used to purchase new chairs and a charging station for the Kent Island branch and AV equipment for the new small conference room at the Centreville branch and a self-checkout station. John spoke about the up-coming renovation and expansion of the Kent Island branch put in place by a Maryland State grant of \$300,000, pending matching funds by Queen Anne's County.

Kristen Pironis, President of the Library Board of Trustees, spoke of her participation in a Library Legislation Day in Annapolis. She emphasized the need to advocate for libraries in the political environment and the need for libraries to stay focused on their mission – to educate and enrich the lives of community members through access to free resources. She stated she is happy to be able to partner with the Friends in this mission. Kristen also thanked Mary for initially taking on her leadership role with the Friends.

Penny Lins presented a certificate of appreciation and a gift planter to Mary Jackson from the Friends in appreciation for her dedication and work over the last three years.

The featured speaker of the evening was Brent Lewis author of *Remembering Kent Island: Stories from the Chesapeake (American Chronicles)* who shared some of the history of the Eastern Shore and his recollections of Kent Island.

Door prizes were won by Sue Haddox and Elaine O'Neal.

A total of 34 members and guests attended the Annual Meeting (full attendance list attached). For the enjoyment of the participants, wine and other beverages, fruit, cheese and sweets were served.

Respectfully submitted, DeAnn Cheyne, Secretary

Attendees, 2017 Annual Meeting

Kim Baklarz Linda Blume Judy Brown Trish Casey-Whiteman DeAnn and Sandy Cheyne Joyce and John Feldman Carol Franks-Randall Greg Gilbert Bill & Sue Haddox Mary and Alan Jackson Kathy Killeen Brent & Peggy Lewis Penny Lins Beth Maier Linda and Donald McKeough Theresa Morgan Elaine O'Neal Kristen Pironis Loretta Quigley Sue Riley Mary E Schmitt Ann Sewell Kathie Smarick Nick Stoer Janet Such John Walden Sandra Williams Ann Ziegler